Campaign Designer FAQ

This article answers Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about the Campaign Designer.

FAQ

Question: How often does Informz poll an integrated or non-integrated target group to add new subscribers to a campaign flow?

Answer: To answer this question, first consider the following scenario - You've activated a campaign and assigned an integrated target group to the campaign using the option Add Subscribers Once and Over Time or, alternatively, the option Add Subscribers Over Time.

Informz performs a target group sync every hour (five minutes before the hour). The flow itself runs once per minute, and if there are additional manual target group syncs, it could pick up others at that time as well.


Question: If a subscriber belongs to an integrated or non-integrated target group when the campaign begins, are there suppression rules that prevent that subscriber from flowing through the campaign multiple times?

Answer: Yes! One email address (tied to a subscriber) only goes through a campaign once. Note that an email address can go through a campaign in test mode several times.


Question: How do I edit an active campaign?

To edit an active campaign, you must first deactivate that campaign. Navigate to Marketing Automation > Landing Pages > Activate tab. Hover over the menu icon for the desired campaign and select Deactivate.

The campaign moves to the In Progress tab where you can edit it. This places the campaign on "pause;" no one can move forward within the campaign flow until the campaign is reactivated.

When you complete your edits and reactivate the campaign, Informz remembers your original campaign target group settings. However, you need to re-select the Start and Stop date times.

Please note that if you used the Add Subscribers Over Time option, you need to reactive the campaign using the Add Subscribers Once and Over Time option to ensure that you capture any new subscribers who were added during the deactivated period.


Question: Do I need to deactivate a campaign to edit a campaign mailing?

Answer: No! Informz allows campaign mailings to be edited in active campaigns. There are two ways to edit a campaign mailing in an active campaign:

  • From the Flow tab of the campaign report.
  • From the Mailings tab of the campaign report.

Editing from the Flow Tab

On the Flow tab of the Campaign Report (for an active campaign) find the campaign step with your desired mailing. Click the step to open the Send Mail Options window.

Click Edit Mailing to edit the mailing.

Editing from the Mailings Tab

On the Mailing tab of the Campaign Report (for an active campaign), hover over the Menu icon for your desired mailing and click Edit.

This opens the mailing in edit mode (Campaign Mailing Designer).

If you edit an active campaign mailing, the Mailing Activity Report (MAR) Options tab does not reflect any of these changes. However, all other data in the MAR reflect the edited version.


Question: What happens to the campaign workflow while it is deactivated?

Answer: When a campaign is deactivated, the workflow of that campaign (as well as the time) continues. This is best illustrated with an example:

You've created a campaign. It has begun and Mailing One is sent (current Subscribers receive Mailing One and enter the first Wait Step of five hours). However, Mailing Two needs edits, so you deactivate the campaign to edit Mailing Two. The campaign remains deactivated for two hours while you edit before it is reactivated. These two hours are factored in the Wait Step, and Mailing Two sends after three hours.


Question: If there is a decide step that is not followed by a wait step, how often do we check to see if an action (open/click/etc.) has been taken before we move subscribers to the next step?

Answer: If there are no wait steps following a decide step, subscribers move immediately to the next step. If you have a decide step based on opens or clicks, or in a particular target group, and you do not have a wait step, it always follows the "not opened/clicked" or "not in the specified target group" path. As a best practice, always put a wait step after a decide step.