Auto-Save and Undo/Redo

Let’s face it – we all make mistakes. And, while each mistakes offers an opportunity to learn, they’re nonetheless frustrating and can derail anyone’s productivity.

You won’t need to worry too much about mistakes in Template Designer 2 (TD2) and Mailing Designer 2 (MD2) because of two built-in features that are designed to help you out: auto-save and undo/redo. Let’s take a look at each of these features.

Auto-Save

Templates and mailings are automatically saved every 60 seconds (this is treated as a "save as" action and creates the initial template/mailing in Informz). This auto-save disables the Save button (after the auto-save is made but before new changes are made to the content). The image below shows the disabled Save button (note that the button text changes to read “Saved”):

Keep in mind that any subsequent save actions (automatic or manual) overwrite the previous save (even if the name or folder is changed!).

Also keep in mind that any errors preventing you from manually saving (e.g. missing template, missing name, etc.) prevent Informz from auto-saving your work. Additionally, if you attempt to manually save, and errors remain, clicking Save displays an error message.

Auto-Saving Template Gallery Templates

When you begin a design using a Template Gallery template, Informz auto-saves every 60 seconds. This uses the template's default name and the Main folder (you do not need to provide a name to begin). Every 60 seconds, TD2 checks to see if there are any unsaved changes. If there are, Informz triggers another change.

As above, additional save actions overwrite the previous save.

Undo/Redo

Both TD2 and MD2 have Undo and Redo buttons on the Design tab. You can undo/redo the following actions:

  • Adding, moving, or deleting a Layout/Story.
  • Changing any property in the Properties panel (left side of the Designer).
  • Changing any Template Theme menu properties.

Undo and redo functionality is only available in the Design tab (it does not track changes on the Options or Review tabs). It is not supported for the text version of the mailing.

Undo and redo keeps track of 50 steps its history. However, if you navigate away from the editor, your undo/redo history is lost!

Expect the Unexpected…

There’s an old adage that says “if it can go wrong, it will” (especially when you don’t want it to!). While we try to take every factor into consideration, sometimes things go awry. Template and Mailing designs are no different. Having auto-save and undo/redo functionality is a leap in the right direction, but if you want even more assurance, save a copy of your design.

By saving a copy, you can rest easily knowing that if anything unexpected happens, you’ll have a quick way to recover. Just make sure that you save a copy before you start making changes!